Font Size



Teaching & Learning

What is the curriculum?

Curriculum is the collective term for all that is taught in schools.  The 'National Curriculum' is what the Government requires all schools to teach.  We conscientiously deliver the core and foundation subjects of the National Curriculum throughout the Foundation stage (Reception) and Key Stage 1 (Years 1 and 2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3 – 6).

The Core subjects are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science

The Foundation subjects are:

  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Design and Technology
  • Religious Education (RE)

These are often delivered in cross curricular projects.

The school also teaches:

  • Personal, Social and Health Education and Citizenship (PSHCE), which encompasses all aspects of the child's well-being
  • Sex and Drugs Education

All these activities are appropriate to the child's age and stage of development.  Parents are invited to a meeting to discuss the Year 6 curriculum for Relationships and Sex Education prior to its delivery.

More detailed information about each subject area is available on request.


Starz login


You are here: Home Information Teaching & Learning