Font Size



Health, Safety & Wellbeing

SEAL Programme (Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning)

Since September 2008 the school has being using the DCSF SEAL programme to support our work in developing children’s skills in social and emotional aspects of learning. We believe that to be able to learn your children need to be happy, confident, understand themselves, understand their feelings and know how to get on with each other and make friends.

The curriculum materials consist of seven themes, which are designed to fit within the pattern of the school year and with planning across the curriculum.

The seven themes are:

Theme 1: New beginnings

Theme 2: Getting on and falling out

Theme 3: Say no to bullying

Theme 4: Going for goals!

Theme 5: Good to be me

Theme 6: Relationships

Theme 7: Changes

Each theme starts with an assembly and is followed up in class with activities, discussions and small group work. Optional activities are also sent home for you to follow up with your child, if you wish. These will help your children to tell you about what they have been doing, suggest some things to do together and provide some ideas for you to try out in your family. Each theme ends with a special assembly which celebrates the key learning in each class. We expect this work to be emotionally challenging and therefore recognise that it may bring out difficult and sensitive issues. Staff are prepared for this. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need to let us know of changes or losses that your child has experienced so that we can be sensitive and work together in partnership to help develop your child in this important area of personal development.

Starz login


You are here: Home Information Health, Safety & Wellbeing